Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Jewish Customs and Terms

The Schema module does not support the "mysqli" database type.

Tishrei: Month of Festivals

Yom Kippur

Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement, is the holiest day in Judaism. It is a day of fasting and prayer that is celebrated on the 10th of the Hebrew month of Tishrei.

Yom Kippur marks the end of the Ten Days of Repentance. According to Jewish belief, on Yom Kippur judgment is passed on each person for the coming year.

Hanukkah (Chanukah)

Unlike most of the major Jewish holidays, Hanukkah’s origin is not in the Bible, but rather in events that happened later. This is a holiday that lasts eight days and begins on the 25th of the Hebrew month of Kislev (usually in December).



Pesach, or Passover, is a major Jewish holiday and one of the three pilgrimage holidays, along with Sukkot (Feast of the Tabernacles) and Shavuot (Pentecost). On these three holidays, the entire Jewish population made a pilgrimage to the Holy Temple in Jerusalem.


And thou shalt observe the feast of weeks, even of the first-fruits of wheat harvest, and the feast of ingathering at the turn of the year. (Exodus 34:22)

Rosh Hashanah

Rosh Hashanah, commonly referred to as the Jewish New Year, is observed on the first and second days of the Hebrew month of Tishrei, which coincides with late September and early October.


Sukkot, or Feast of Booths, is celebrated from the 15th through the 21st of the Hebrew month of Tishrei (usually October), and is one of the three pilgrimage holidays, on which Jews made pilgrimages to the Temple in Jerusalem.